Session #19

GASB Update: An Insider’s Look at the GASB
2:50 – 4:05 p.m.   
CPE Field of Study: Accounting (Governmental)

PPT Presentation

This session will pull back the curtain to provide an insider’s view of the GASB from the perspective of three Board members.  A wide range of topics will be discussed, including current technical agenda projects, due process activities, and challenges that are being faced in the financial reporting environment.


Joel Black, CPA, was named chairman of the  Governmental Accounting Standards Board, effective July 1, 2020. Joel came to the GASB after almost 16 years as a partner at Mauldin & Jenkins in Atlanta where he was the partner in charge of the firm’s audit practice at the time of his departure. Prior to Mauldin & Jenkins, Joel worked for 12 years at KPMG, LLP. During his experience in public accounting, he exclusively served state and local government clients leading audits and financial statement preparation engagements.
Joel previously served on the Governmental Accounting Standards Advisory Council, the AICPA’s State and Local Government Expert Panel, and the executive committee of the AICPA’s Government Audit Quality Center.

Joel graduated from Georgia State University.
David R. Bean is the director of research and technical activities for the Governmental Accounting Standards Board. He assigns and provides oversight to the GASB’s research, technical, and administrative activities.
Prior to joining the GASB in 1990, David worked in public accounting and government. He also has served as deputy chairman of the International Public Sector Accounting Standards Board. He was the lead author on the 1988 Governmental Accounting, Auditing and Financial Reporting and was the founder of the GAAFR Review. He was the last director of the National Council on Governmental Accounting before the formation of the GASB in 1984.

David is a member of the Government Finance Officers Association, the Connecticut and Illinois Government Finance Officers Associations, the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants, the Illinois CPA Society, the Association of Government Accountants, the National Federation of Municipal Analysts, and the Municipal Analysts Group of New York.
Kristopher E. Knight began serving as a member of the Governmental Accounting Standards Board on July 1, 2017.
Mr. Knight is Delaware’s deputy secretary of state and director of the state’s Division of Corporations. In his role, he oversees the state’s $1.3 billion corporate franchise and servicing of the 1.4 million business entities that make their legal home in Delaware. Mr. Knight also supervises several other divisions of the Delaware Department of State, including the Office of the State Banking Commissioner, the state’s Corporate and International Development office, and Delaware’s abandoned property Voluntary Disclosure Agreement program. Since 2012, he has also served as treasurer of the Delaware Sustainable Energy Utility’s Board of Directors. There, Mr. Knight led a comprehensive overhaul of the utility’s financial policies and practices.
Previously, Mr. Knight served as the director of Delaware’s Division of Accounting. In that role, he administered policy related to the state’s procurement card program, which as and $80 million annual budget. Prior to his career in public service, Mr. Knight served in positions of increasing responsibility at KPMG LLP for more than a decade. As senior audit manager, he managed all aspects of governmental client audits, including those for the University of Delaware, the state of Delaware, and Philadelphia Gas Works.
Mr. Knight holds a bachelor’s degree in business administration – accounting from Loyola University. He is a certified public accountant and a member of the AICPA.
Mr. Knight’s term concludes on June 30, 2022, and he is eligible for reappointment to a second term.
Dianne E. Ray is responsible for overseeing independent audits and reviews that hold government agencies accountable and promote positive change in government. As head of the Office of the State Auditor, Dianne leads a staff of experienced professionals who conduct performance, financial, and IT audits and evaluations and track independent audits of local governments in the state. Under Dianne’s leadership as State Auditor, the Office has received 14 national awards for audits and evaluations.

Dianne was first unanimously appointed by the General Assembly to the position of state auditor in May 2011 for a five-year term and was unanimously reappointed in April 2016 for an additional five years. She has specialized in governmental accounting and auditing for more than 25 years. Dianne possesses in-depth knowledge of Colorado's state and local governments.

Dianne has extensive experience in senior-level management positions and has been recognized for her innovative leadership style. In 2012, the Colorado Society of Certified Public Accountants and the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants named Dianne as one of three “Women to Watch” in the Experienced Leader category. In May 2015, the University of Colorado-Denver's School of Public Affairs awarded Dianne the 2015 Leo Reithmeyer Award for the Top Public Administrator in Colorado. In August 2016, the president of the National Association of State Auditors, Controllers, and Treasurers named Dianne as recipient of the annual President's Award. In June 2020, she was awarded the William L. Snodgrass Distinguished Leader Award by the National State Auditors’ Association.

In June 2020, Dianne was appointed to serve a 5-year term on the Governmental Accounting Standards Board, beginning July 1, 2020. In 2016, Dianne was appointed by the U.S. Comptroller General to serve a 4-year term (2016-2020) on the Advisory Council on Government Auditing Standards, which includes experts from federal, state, and local government; the private sector; and academia to review and recommend necessary changes to standards that guide the government auditing profession. In 2018, Dianne was appointed by the U.S. Comptroller General to serve on the Domestic Working Group, a forum for members to discuss topics of mutual interest, address common concerns, and promote collaborative efforts in the accountability community in the U.S.
Dianne served as the president of the National State Auditors Association for the 2015-2016 term. Dianne is also a member of the board of the Colorado Housing and Finance Authority, Chair of the Audit Committee, and former board chair.


The NASACT Community

NASACT serves as the premier organization working to bring together state auditors, state comptrollers and state treasurers to cooperatively address government financial management issues. NASACT also manages two secretariats - the National State Auditors Association (NSAA) and the National Association of State Comptrollers (NASC). Both NSAA and NASC are included under the umbrella of NASACT’s budget and utilize staff hired by NASACT.