SEC Announces New Investor Advisory Committee Members
Section: Washington Update

The U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission has announced the appointment of three new members to its Investor Advisory Committee, and the reappointment of five members whose terms recently expired. The committee was established under the Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act to advise the Commission on regulatory priorities, regulation of securities products, trading strategies, fee structures, disclosure effectiveness and initiatives to protect investors and promote investor confidence and the integrity of the U.S. securities markets. 
Members of the committee represent a wide variety of interests, including senior citizens and other individual investors, mutual funds, pension funds and state securities regulators. The new members of the Investor Advisory Committee are:
  • John Coates, John F. Cogan Jr. Professor of Law and Economics at Harvard Law School, and research director of the Center on the Legal Profession
  • Nancy LeaMond, executive vice president, chief advocacy and engagement officer, Community, State & National Affairs, AARP
  • Elisse Walter, former chairman of the SEC 

The reappointed members of the committee are:
  • Stephen Holmes, general partner emeritus, InterWest Partners
  • Barbara Roper, director of investor protection, Consumer Federation of America
  • Kurt Schacht, managing director, CFA Institute
  • Anne Sheehan, director of corporate governance, California State Teachers’ Retirement System
  • Damon Silvers, director of policy and special counsel, AFL-CIO