State Comptrollers Attend 37th Annual Conference in Montgomery
Section: NASC

NASC President Cynthia Cloud, state auditor of Wyoming, recently welcomed association members and corporate partners to Montgomery, Alabama, for the thirty-seventh annual conference of the National Association of State Comptrollers. The conference was held March 21-23 and was preceded by meetings of NASACT’s Executive Committee, as well as NASC’s Executive Committee and its Committee on Accounting and Financial Reporting. Two ERP user groups (CGI and Oracle/PeopleSoft) also held meetings.

Technical Agenda & Other Activities

The conference featured three roundtable sessions and various general sessions covering a range of topics. View the complete program and download presentations and speaker bios.

NASC selected a new Executive Committee at the 2018 business meeting. Left to right: Cynthia Cloud (WY), immediate past president; Stacy Neal (MO), secretary/treasurer; Alan Skelton (GA), president; Doug Cotnoir (ME); Steve Barnett (SD), vice president; and Lynne Bajema (OK). Not picture: Brandon Woolf (ID) and new member Thomas Shack (MA).   For his first order of business, new NASC President Alan Skelton presented a plaque of appreciation to Cynthia Cloud for her year of service to the association and its members.

Awards & Resolutions

At the conference banquet held on Wednesday, March 21, President Cloud, recognized the wife and daughter of Tom White, former state comptroller of Alabama, who was scheduled to be NASC president and to host the conference prior to his sudden death in January 2017.
President Cloud also presented two awards:
  • Edgar C. Ross, controller of Kentucky, received NASC’s highest honor, the Louis L. Goldstein Distinguished Leadership Award.
  • Richard Eckstrom, comptroller general of South Carolina, received the 2018 NASC President’s Award. 

Two resolutions were approved during the conference, thanking President Cloud for her service and thanking Alabama hosts, State Comptroller Kathleen Baxter and her staff, for their assistance in planning the conference.

Edgar C. Ross accepted the Louis L. Goldstein Distinguished Leadership Award from President Cynthia Cloud.   Richard Eckstrom received the 2018 NASC President's Award from Cloud during the conference banquet.


NASC wishes to thank all those who helped with the conference, especially Program Committee Chair Alan Skelton, Georgia’s state accounting officer, and Kathleen Baxter and her staff. NASC also wishes to thank all the speakers and moderators for sharing their time and expertise.
Special gratitude goes to each corporate partner at the conference for their financial support and technical expertise.
Premier Sponsors

  • Accenture
  • CGI
  • Oracle
  • Workiva

Sustaining Sponsors

  • Deloitte
  • EY
  • FICO
  • Infor
  • KPMG
  • Plante Moran

General Sponsors

  • CliftonLarsonAllen
  • IGM Technology
  • ISG
  • MKinsight Audit Management Software
  • OpenGov
  • Visa

Media Sponsor

  • Governing Magazine