Section: NASC

President Cheryl Grey from Montana, recently welcomed association members and corporate partners to Lexington, Kentucky, for the 43rd annual conference of the National Association of State Comptrollers. The conference was held at the Hyatt Regency Downtown and was attended by over 160 members, corporate partners, and other government affiliates.

The conference was preceded by meetings of NASACT’s Executive CommitteeNASC’s Executive Committee, the Committee on Financial Reporting and Accounting and several user groups.

At the annual business meeting, NASC voted in the new Executive Committee for 2024-25:

  • President: Bob Jaros, Colorado
  • Vice President: Rob Hamilton, Oregon
  • Secretary/Treasurer: Mike Corricelli, Tennessee
  • Immediate Past President: Cheryl Grey, Montana
  • Kathleen Baxter, Alabama
  • Bill McNamara, Massachusetts
  • Philip Olsen, Nebraska
  • Gerlda Hines, Georgia

Technical Agenda & Other Activities

The conference featured three roundtable sessions and various general sessions covering a range of topics. View the complete conference program

NASC President Cheryl Grey welcomed attendees to Lexington, Kentucky, on the opening day of the conference.   The 2023-24 Executive Committee were thanked and recognized for their work during the year. Shown left to right (front row): Cheryl Grey (MT), Kathleen Baxter (AL), and Bob Jaros (CO); (back row, left to right): Doug Cotnoir (ME), Rob Hamilton (OR), Philip Olsen (NE) and Bill McNamara (MA). Not pictured: Mike Corricelli (TN).
Vern Larson, a past president of NASC and former state auditor and former state treasurer of South Dakota, was recognized with the Louis B. Goldstein Leadership Award for his long and distinguished career and his contributions to government.   Stacy Neal (MO) received the Ed Ross Distinguished Service award. Ross, retired state controller of Kentucky and longtime NASC supporter, was on hand for the presentation.
Maine State Controller Doug Cotnoir received a President's Award, recognizing his integral role in coordinating with the federal government on various aspects of the American Rescue Plan Act.   Jennifer Pacheco (NC) was recognized for her leadership on NASC's HR and Internal Controls information sharing groups.

Awards & Resolutions

At the conference banquet held on Wednesday, March 13, President Grey presented several awards:
  • Vern Larson, former state auditor and former state treasurer of South Dakota, received NASC’s highest honor, the Louis L. Goldstein Distinguished Leadership Award.
  • Stacy Neal, director of accounting in Missouri, received the Ed Ross Distinguished Service Award.
  • Doug Cotnoir, state controller of Maine, received the President's Award.
  • Jennifer Pacheco, audit, risk and compliance services director in the North Carolina Office of the State Controller, received a Special Recognition Award recognizing her leadership as a co-chair of the NASC HR and Internal Controls information sharing groups.

Two resolutions were approved during the conference:
  • Thanking President Grey for her service as NASC's president.
  • Thanking Joe McDaniel for hosting the conference in Kentucky and working to make it a memorable experience for everyone.


NASC wishes to thank all those who helped with the conference, especially Program Committee Chair Bob Jaros. NASC also wishes to thank all the speakers and moderators for sharing their time and expertise.
Special gratitude goes to each corporate partner at the conference for their financial support and technical expertise.