Rebecca Otto Receives 2017 NSAA Snodgrass Leadership Award
Section: NSAA

Minnesota State Auditor Rebecca Otto was recently named to receive the 2017 NSAA William R. Snodgrass Leadership Award. The award was presented at a luncheon during the NSAA annual conference by New Jersey State Auditor and NSAA President Steven Eells.

The award is given annually at the NSAA conference to recognize individuals who have demonstrated sustained outstanding leadership and notable contributions to state government auditing. This award was created to help encourage increased interest, growth, development and distinctive leadership in the field of state government auditing. Award winners must have exhibited long-term leadership in a state auditing environment; distinctive leadership and notable accomplishment in state government auditing; innovative thinking and/or creative development of improvements in state government audit programs or techniques; and, recognized leadership and professionalism at the state level. 

Otto has served as the elected state auditor of Minnesota since 2006. During that time she has been an active participant of the National State Auditors Association as well as NASACT, NSAA's parent organization. She has serve on the executive committees of both NSAA and NASACT, tackling issues such as government transparency, accountability and the continual efforts by state audit organizations to ensure the efficient and appropriate use of state and federal funds. She is a past president of NSAA.

Otto was named by The Institute of Internal Auditors as one of the “15 Most Influential Professionals in Government Auditing” in 2014. She received the NASACT President’s Award in 2014 for her work on the national alliance to transform state government. Under her leadership, the Minnesota Office of the State Auditor received an NSAA Execellence in Accountability Award in 2009 for the special project “Best Practices Review: Reducing Energy Costs in Local Government.”