Suzanne Bump Hosts 42nd NSAA Annual Conference
Section: NSAA

NSAA President and Auditor of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts Suzanne Bump recently hosted the forty-second annual conference of the National State Auditors Association. The conference was held June 3-4, and because of the Coronavirus pandemic, was held virtually. There were almost 200 participants, including 37 principal state auditors and representation from 41 state audit organizations, other state government agencies, and local government.  

Technical Agenda & Other Activities
The conference featured a roundtable session and several general sessions covering a diverse range of topics. PowerPoint presentations and speaker bios from the conference are available

During the opening of the conference, President Bump announced the recipient of the 2020 NSAA William R. Snodgrass Distinguished Leadership Award: Dianne E. Ray, state auditor of Colorado.

Greg Hook, legislative auditor of Maryland and chairman of NSAA’s Excellence in Accountability Awards Committee, announced this year’s Excellence in Accountability Awards. Receiving those awards were:
  • Large Performance Audit: Oregon Division of Audits
  • Small Performance Audit: Michigan Office of the Auditor General
  • Small Performance Audit: Office of the New York State Comptroller, Division of State Government Accountability
  • Special Project: California State Auditor's Office
  • Forensic Report: Washington Office of the State Auditor
Business Meeting
On Thursday, members of NSAA held a business meeting where they heard reports from select committees and elected a new Executive Committee. The Executive Committee for 2019-20 will be:
  • President: Daryl G. Purpera, Legislative Auditor (LA)
  • President-Elect: Martha Mavredes, Auditor of Public Accounts (VA)
  • Secretary/Treasurer: Greg S. Griffin, State Auditor (GA)
  • Immediate Past President: Suzanne Bump, Auditor of the Commonwealth (MA) 
  • John Geragosian, State Auditor (CT)
  • April Renfro, Division Manager, Legislative Services - Audit Division (ID)
  • Doug Ringler, Auditor General (MI)
Several resolutions were approved by members at the annual June business meeting: 
  • Thanking President Bump for her service and for hosting the conference.
  • Thanking David A. Vaudt for his service as chairman of the GASB and wishing him well upon his retirement from that position.
  • Thanking David Bean for his service as director of research and technical activities at the GASB.
NSAA wishes to thank all those who helped with the conference, but especially Suzanne Bump and staff from her office. Active involvement by the state audit community is the reason NSAA's success, and we wish to thank all who participated. 

Last but not least, thanks to this year’s conference sponsors. Their support and technical expertise enhance government accountability and transparency.
  • 20 20 Learning in Focus
  • Becker
  • Bronner Group
  • RSM
  • Wolters Kluwer