2022 NASACT Annual Conference Recap
Section: NASACT

NASACT President and South Carolina Comptroller General Richard Eckstrom welcomed over 500 members and friends to Charleston for the association's 107th annual conference. The conference was held August 21-24 at the Charleston Place Hotel, and included meetings of NASACT's Executive Committee and the Committee on Accounting, Reporting and Auditing.
President Eckstrom welcomed attendees on Monday, August 22.   Colors were presented by Citadel Regimental Color Guard during opening ceremonies.  

Technical Agenda

The conference featured seven general sessions and 28 concurrent sessions, with a wide range of topics of interest to state government financial management leaders. View the complete program here.

Annual Business Meeting

Three resolutions were approved at the conference during the annual business meeting:
  1. Thanking Richard Eckstrom for his service as NASACT President.
  2. Thanking our South Carolina hosts of the 2022 NASACT Annual Conference.
  3. Commending Gilbert Tran on his distinguished career and thanking him for his support and friendship over the years.
Additionally, NASACT members elected a new Executive Committee. Illinois State Treasurer Mike Frerichs will serve as president of NASACT for the 2022-23 year. This year's committee will include:

  • President: Mike Frerichs, State Treasurer, Illinois
  • First Vice President: Beth Wood, State Auditor, North Carolina
  • Second Vice President: Brandon Woolf, State Controller, Idaho
  • Secretary: Steve McCoy, State Treasurer, Georgia
  • Treasurer: Greg Griffin, State Auditor, Georgia
  • Immediate Past President Richard Eckstrom, Comptroller General, South Carolina

Auditor Representatives
  • John Geragosian, State Auditor, Connecticut
  • April Renfro, Legislative Auditor, Idaho
  • Doug Ringler, Auditor General, Michigan

Comptroller Representatives
  • Doug Cotnoir, State Controller, Maine
  • Cheryl Grey, Administrator, State Financial Services Division, Montana
  • Bob Jaros, State Controller, Colorado

Treasurer Representatives
  • Mike Fitzgerald, State Treasurer, Iowa
  • David McRae, State Treasurer, Mississippi
  • Dereck Davis, State Treasurer, Maryland
Incoming NASACT President Mike Frerichs (IL, left) presented a plaque of appreciation to Richard Eckstrom.   NASACT members elected a new Executive Committee during the business meeting.


On Tuesday, August 23, two individuals were inducted into NASACT's Hall of Fame:
  • William G. Holland, former Illinois Auditor General
  • Richard D. Johnson, former Iowa State Auditor and FAF Trustee
Left to right: Executive Director Kinney Poynter, Hall of Fame inductee Bill Holland, and President Eckstrom.   Richard Johnson's widow Marjorie Johnson and their four children attended to accept the award.  
Georgia State Treasurer Steve McCoy received a Distinguished Service Award from President Eckstrom.   Maine State Controller Doug Cotnoir received a Special Recognition Award for his excellent support and service during the implementation of COVID relief funding.
In addition to announcing the new Hall of Fame inductees, President Eckstrom announced several other awards:

Distinguished Service
  • Beth Pearce, State Treasurer, Vermont
  • Steve McCoy, State Treasurer, Georgia
President's Awards
  • Staci Henshaw, Auditor of Public Accounts, Virginia
  • Lynne Bajema, former State Comptroller, Oklahoma
  • Manju Ganeriwala, former State Treasurer, Virginia
  Special Recognition
  • Doug Cotnoir, State Controller, Maine


NASACT wishes to thank all those who helped with the conference, including our South Carolina hosts, speakers and moderators. Special gratitude goes to our corporate partners for their financial support and technical expertise.

Next Year

The 2023 Annual Conference will be hosted by incoming President Mike Frerichs, State Treasurer of Illinois, on August 13-16 in Portland, Oregon. Mark your calendar and join us next year!