FAF announces three new members of GASAC, Alan Skelton reappointed as vice chair.
Section: NASACT

The Board of Trustees of the Financial Accounting Foundation recently announced the appointment of Karen Carraher, Joni Davis, and Craig Murray to the Governmental Accounting Standards Advisory Council. All appointees’ terms will begin January 1, 2020.

In addition to the three newly named members, the FAF reappointed six GASAC members – including the reappointment of Alan Skelton as vice chairman.

The GASAC advises the Governmental Accounting Standards Board on strategic and technical issues, project priorities, and other matters that affect standard-setting. The GASAC provides the GASB with diverse perspectives from individuals with varied governmental, professional, and occupational backgrounds.

The new GASAC members will serve a two-year term and are eligible to be reappointed for up to two additional consecutive terms. They are:
  • Karen E. Carraher, Executive Director, Ohio Public Employees Retirement System
  • Joni Davis, Accounting Manager, Nebraska Public Power District, State of Nebraska
  • Craig M. Murray, Director of Professional Practice, Michigan Office of the Auditor General.

Four members will depart from GASAC on December 31, 2019: Patsy Brown, Director of Accounting, Chesterfield County, VA; Lealan Miller, Director, Government Services, Eide Bailly; Sandra Moorman, Director of Accounting and Controller, Sacramento Municipal Utility District; and Robert Wylie, Executive Director, South Dakota Retirement System.  

For a complete list of current Council members, visit the GASAC webpage.